0
Declined

Plugins should use existing configuration

Thibaut 6 years ago updated by Eugene Pankov (Project coordinator) 6 years ago 4
Hi,

When you add a new plugin to Ajenti, please don't overwrite existing configuration files. I just noticed that I lost all my previous Fail2ban conf and that all my websites were down because of that. I updated Ajenti yesterday in the evening and noticed that issue only today morning. Because of course, I didn't think that updating the Ajenti package would bring my firewall down.

You should even warn us when existing configuration files will be overwritten...

Thanks!

Answer

Answer
Under review
Are you 100% sure that your existing config got completely erased? There's nothing in the fail2ban plugin that automatically touches the existing configuration at the moment. Only case when files can get overwritten by Ajenti is when configuring Ajenti V, and then there's a warning about that.
Answer
Under review
Are you 100% sure that your existing config got completely erased? There's nothing in the fail2ban plugin that automatically touches the existing configuration at the moment. Only case when files can get overwritten by Ajenti is when configuring Ajenti V, and then there's a warning about that.
I apologize, I was wrong. It looks like the plugin didn't overwrite my files.
The configuration is still in place and the error was somewhere else.

I should have checked twice before writing. :P